The role of the Prizes and Awards sub-committee is to administer all prizes and awards offered by the Australian Archaeological Association Inc. Subcommittee members include Peter Veth, Sean Ulm, Fiona Hook and Ken Mulvaney

The adjudication of all AAA Public Fund Grants is the sole responsibility of the AAA Prizes and Awards sub-committee. This sub-committee comprises nationally-recognised experts in the field of Australian moveable archaeological heritage and the archaeological arts of Indigenous Australians. The sub-committee is appointed annually by the AAA President and consists of no less than four members from no less than three states and/or territories. The AAA Prizes and Awards sub-committee awards Grants on merit and the degree to which they promote the objectives of the Association.