Dates: 10 – 13 December 2019
Venue: Mantra on View, Surfers Paradise.

2019 Quick Links:
-2019 Conference Website: Click here for registration

2019 Conference Code of Conduct
In 2019 in AAA executive has introduced a Code of Conduct for Conference participants to follow. Please read this document if you are attending the conference. This can be downloaded below:

2019 Conference Details
Famous for its the sun, surf and sandy beaches, you are invited to join us on the Gold Coast for the Australian Archaeological Association (AAA) Annual Conference, ‘Disrupting Paradise: The Archaeology of the Driest Continent on Earth’. The AAA Conference will reflect on how archaeology has developed as a discipline and as a community in the 50 years since John Mulvaney published his landmark Prehistory of Australia. How has archaeology disrupted and continued to disrupt understandings of the past and ourselves? How have our understandings of people and transformation in Australia changed in the last 50 years? How has archaeology disrupted our dominant paradigms in archaeological method and theory? How has the culture of archaeological practice changed?

Details about sessions are available through the conference website:

Conference Registration (including early bird rates)

2019 Conference Website: Click here for registration

The 2019 conference website including registration can be accessed here

The AAA Annual Conference is a major event for archaeologists, members and non-members, to get together, present papers and posters or just find out about the latest archaeological discoveries. AAA has about 1000 members and the Annual Conference typically attracts about 400 to 500 delegates from Australia and overseas. It is typically held in early December of each year in a different location each year to encourage a broad-cross section of the archaeological community to attend and reduce travelling costs for participants.

Call for Award Nominations (Closes 30 October)

Each year the AAA aims to present four awards to acknowledge the outstanding contributions of members and colleagues to the field of archaeology in a number of ways.  This call for nominations sets out the criteria for each each of the four awards and the requirements of nominations.  If you wish to nominate someone who was nominated for the same award last year, but was unsuccessful, there is no need to resend your nomination documents.  Please just let the President know you wish to renominate that person, and last year’s nomination will be rolled over to this year.

1. Rhys Jones Medal for Outstanding Contribution to Australian Archaeology
The Rhys Jones Medal is the highest award offered by the Australian Archaeological Association Inc. It was established in honour of Rhys Jones (1941-2001) to mark his enormous contribution to the development and promotion of archaeology in Australia. The Medal is presented annually to an individual who has made an outstanding and sustained contribution to the field. Established in 2002, previous winners include Isabel McBryde (2003), John Mulvaney (2004), Sean Ulm (2017) and Harry Allen (2018).  A full list of past recipients can be found on the AAA website.

Nominations should consist of a one page statement outlining the nominee’s archaeological career and how this work has benefited Australian archaeology, as well as a full list of the nominee’s publications (in addition to the one page nomination). Note that nominees do not need to be members of the Association; be an Australian citizen; or work exclusively in Australia or on Australian material.  Nominations longer than one page will not be read.

2. John Mulvaney Book Award
The Award was established in honour of John Mulvaney and his contribution and commitment to Australian archaeology over a lifetime of professional service. It acknowledges the significant contribution of individual or co-authored publications to the archaeology of the continent of Australia, the Pacific, Papua-New Guinea and South-East Asia, either as general knowledge or as specialist publications. Nominations are considered annually for books that cover both academic pursuits and public interest, reflecting the philosophy of John Mulvaney’s life work. Established in 2004, previous winners include Val Attenbrow for Sydney’s Aboriginal Past (2004), Mike Morwood & Penny Van Oosterzee for The Discovery of the Hobbit: The Scientific Breakthrough that changed the Face of Human History (2007), and Nina Kononenko for Experimental and Archaeological Studies of Use-Wear and Residues on Obsidian Artefacts from Papua New Guinea (2012). A full list of past recipients can be found on the AAA website.

Nominations must be for books written by one or more authors, but not for edited books, published in the last three calendar years (i.e. 2017, 2018 or 2019). The nomination must be accompanied by at least two published book reviews. A short citation (no more than one page) on why the book should be considered must also be included.  Nominations longer than one page will not be read.

3. The Bruce Veitch Award for Excellence in Indigenous Engagement
This Award celebrates the important contribution that Bruce Veitch (1957-2005) made to the practice and ethics of archaeology in Australia. In particular, the award honours Bruce’s close collaboration with traditional owners on whose country he worked. It is awarded annually to any individual or group who has had long-standing and sustained engagement with Indigenous communities during archaeological or cultural heritage projects which have produced significant outcomes for Indigenous interests. Established in 2005, previous winners include Annie Ross (2008), Ian McNiven (2012) and Mel Marshall (2017). A full list of past recipients can be found on the AAA website.

Nominees will have actively engaged with Indigenous communities to produce successful outcomes. The nature of nominations is flexible (e.g. video tape, audio tape, poster etc), considering the wide range of Indigenous collaborations and the remoteness of some communities. Nominators are strongly encouraged to include supporting statements from relevant Indigenous individuals or community organisations.

4. Life Membership for Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Archaeological Association Inc.
This award was established to recognise significant and sustained contribution to the objects and purposes of the Australian Archaeological Association Inc. Previous winners include J. Peter White (2003), Luke Kirkwood (2004), Lynley Wallis (2012), and Jacq Mathews (2016).  A full list of past recipients can be found on the AAA website.

Nominations should consist of a one page statement outlining the nominee’s contributions to the Australian Archaeological Association Inc. Note that nominees must be members of the Association.  Nominations longer than one page will not be read.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations for all Awards will be considered by the Awards Sub-Committee and the Executive of the Australian Archaeological Association Inc. with advice as appropriate from senior members of the discipline. The decision of the Executive is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

Nominations to be addressed to the President at:
Mark your nomination “private & confidential”

and sent to arrive no later than 30 October 2019

Subsidy Scheme for Indigenous, Student and Carer Participants

Applications have now closed

Abstracts and Sessions - Submissions now closed

Abstract submission has now closed (August 31st 2019).


Further session details and abstract details will be posted here