Rhys Jones Medal for Outstanding Contribution to Australian Archaeology

The Rhys Jones Medal is the highest award offered by the Australian Archaeological Association. It was established in honour of Rhys Jones (1941-2001) to mark his enormous contribution to the development and promotion of archaeology in Australia. The Medal is presented annually to an individual who has made an outstanding and sustained contribution to the field.

Year Awardee
2019 Val Attenbrow
2018 Harry Allen
2017 Sean Ulm
2016 Jo McDonald and Paul Ta├žon
2015 David Frankel
2014 Peter Veth
2013 Richard Wright
2012 Mike Morwood
2011 Sue O’Connor
2010 Iain Davidson
2009 Harry Lourandos
2008 Not Awarded
2007 Jeremy Green
2006 Mike Smith
2005 Sharon Sullivan
2004 John Mulvaney
2003 Isabel McBryde
2002 Rhys Maengwyn Jones