John Mulvaney Book Award

The John Mulvaney Book Award was established in 2004 in honour of John Mulvaney and his contribution and commitment to Australian archaeology over a lifetime of professional service. It was created to acknowledge the significant contribution of individual or coauthored publications to Australian archaeology, either as general knowledge or as specialist publications. Nominations are considered annually for books that cover both academic pursuits and public interest reflecting the philosophy of John Mulvaney’s life work.

Year Awardee Book Title

Alice Gorman

Dr Space Junk vs the Universe: Archaeology and the Future

Billy Griffiths

Deep Time Dreaming: Uncovering Ancient Australia
2016 Caroline Bird and Edward McDonald Kakatungutanta to Warrie Outcamp: 40,000 years in Nyiyaparli Country
2015 Simon Holdaway and Patricia Fanning Geoarchaeology of Aboriginal Landscapes in Semi-Arid Australia
2013 Mike Smith The Archaeology of Australia’s Deserts
2012 Nina Kononenko Experimental and Archaeological Studies of Use-Wear and Residues on Obsidian Artefacts from Papua New Guinea
2011 Annie Ross, with colleagues Kathleen Pickering Sherman, Jeffrey Snodgrass, Henry D. Delcore and Richard Sherman Indigenous Peoples and the Collaborative Stewardship of Nature: Knowledge Binds and Institutional Conflicts
2010 Jane Lydon Fantastic Dreaming: The Archaeology of an Aboriginal Mission
2009 Denis Byrne Surface Collection – Archaeological Travels in Southeast Asia
2008 Peter Hiscock The Archaeology of Ancient Australia
2007 Mike Morwood and Penny van Oosterzee The Discovery of the Hobbit: The Scientific Breakthrough that Changed the Face of Human History
2006 Rodney Harrison Shared Landscapes: Archaeologies of Attachment and the Pastoral Industry in New South Wales
2004 Val Attenbrow Sydney’s Aboriginal Past